CRET-2024 | PGAT Results | Candidates called for Interview (Teaching), Dept. of Commerce and Business Administration | CUET-UG Admission (2024-25) | Download Admit Card for Non Teaching Positions (2024) | PGAT-2024: Application Form Correction(s) Window | Corrigendum PGAT-2024 | International Student Admission 2024-2025 | Syllabus for Recruitment: Non –Teaching Positions Group B & C (Revised) | CRET 2023 | Link for ABC ID | "Citadel of Learning: The Glory of University of Allahabad" | Guide for creating ABC ID for students | Warning against the misuse of Allahabad University Logo | Feedback Form

History of the Hostel

The hostel was constructed in the name of Law Hostel in the year 1916. The hostel is presently known in the name of Sir Sunder Lal who was the first Indian Vice Chancellor of Allahabad University and founder Vice Chancellor of Banaras Hindu University. The inmates of the hostel have secured many important positions in the field of Judiciary, administration, business and academics. The hostel was a rich tradition of having various academic and cultural clubs e.g. Law forum, exclusive, comeco, science, evening stray bird, problem etc. These clubs were created by a group of students interested in a similar discipline to discuss various issues related to the discipline. These clubs was revived on 16th August 2015 with the initiative of many alumni of the hostel. A new wing of the hostel named as SSL_Annex having 53 single seated rooms and a centralised Mess facility was constructed and inaugurated on 18th August 2015.

Total Rooms - Details

  • Single 04 (Main building) + 52 (SSL_Annex)
  • Double 102
  • Triple NIL

Details of the Students/occupants

(will be uploaded soon !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)


  • The Mess facility is available in the hostel for all the inmates. The Mess is managed by a group of students on rotation basis.
  • The Playground for cricket, basket ball, badminton and football is available for the inmates of the hostel.
  • he Library/Reading Room is available for the inmates having a set of latest books. The computer lab is also available in the hostel and situated in the library for access of e-content.
  • The Medical facility of the University is availed by the inmates
  • The common hall of the hostel is equipped with 42"TV for Recreation.

Former Superintendent

  1. Dr. Shailendra Kumar Mishra
  2. Dr. Shailendra Rai
  3. Dr. P. N. Pandey
  4. Dr. L. M. Singh
  5. Dr. B. N. Singh
  6. Dr. N. B. Singh
  7. Dr. N. K. Shukla

More information will be updated soon !!!

Former Wardens

  1. Dr. Shailendra Kumar Mishra
  2. Prof. N. K. Shukla
  3. Prof. P. N. Pandey
  4. Prof. L. M. Singh

More information will be updated soon !!!

Prominent Alumni (tentative)

< < Justice, Uttarakhand Highcourt Dr.Govind Mishra IRS and a famous Indian novelist Shri Jagmohan Yadav Deputy Chairman of the State Planning Commission Uttar Pradesh
Sr. No. Name Designation
1 (Late) Justice Prem Shankar Gupta Judge (Retd), Allahabad High Court
2 (Late) Prof. B. B. L. Saxena Former Vice Chancellor, Agra University
3 Dr. O. P. Singh DG, CISF
4 Justice Alok Kumar Singh Justice High Court (Retd)
5 Justice Pratyush Kumar Judge, Allahabad High Court
6 Justice Sunil Ambwani Ex- Chief Justice Gujarat High Court
7 Justice V. K. Visht
8 Justice Yatindra Singh Ex- Chief Justice Chhatishgarh High Court
9 Mr.C.M. Singh Ex- Member U.P.P.S.C. Allahabad.
11 Prof J.A Ansari Professor, University of Allahabad
12 Prof. Bindhyachal Rai Professor, University of Allahabad
13 Prof. D. N. Dwivedi Professor, University of Allahabad
14 Prof. Mata Amber Tiwari Professor, University of Allahabad
15 Prof. N. K. Shukla Professor, University of Allahabad
16 Prof. R. S. Singh Professor, University of Allahabad
17 Prof. S. L. Srivastava Professor, University of Allahabad
18 Prof. Umakant Yadav Professor, University of Allahabad
19 Shri Anil Kumar Damele (IAS) D M Basti
20 Shri Avanish Chandra Diwadi Chief Treasury Officer Allahabad
21 Ex-DGP-UP Police
22 Shri Manoj Kumar Srivatava AIG(R) Sultanpur
23 Shri N.C. Bajpayee
24 Shri P.K. Tiwari (IAS) Addl. I.G Registration U.P. Alld.
25 Shri Preveen Singh Principal
26 Shri S.P Mishra Commissioner Faizabad
27 Shri Shiva Sagar Singh (IPS) DIG, Mirzapur Range
28 Shri Vivek Mehrotra IAS(Retd) Former Secretary to Govt. of India
29 Shri. T. N. Chaturvedi Former Governor, Karnataka
30 Shri.Mani Prasad Mishra Secretary to Govt of U.P. Home
31 Shri.Mohan Swaroop (IAS) Ex- Secretory Human Right Commission


Warden/ Superintendents/ Asstt. Superintendents
Name Department Email Id Mobile Number Position
Prof. S. M. Prasad Botany


Dr. Jitendra Singh Naulakha Ancient History     Superintendent
Dr. Atul Narayan Singh Ancient History   Asst. Superintendent

Contact us for any complain/query/concern:

Dean, Student Welfare: Prof. Harsh Kumar

Superintendent: Dr. Jitendra Singh Naulakha