



DAY : TUESDAY DATE : 05th JULY, 2011 TIME : 3.00 P.M.

Venue : North Hall, Senate House University of Allahabad, Allahabad



UNIVERSITY OF ALLAHABAD ALLAHABAD-211 002

MINUTES OF THE SEVENTEENTH (EMERGENT) MEETING OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

YEAR - 2011

Friday, the 05th July, 2011 at 3.00 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT

1. Prof. A.K. Singh	Chairman
2. Shri Anugrah Narayan Singh	Member
3. Prof. N.R. Farooqi	Member
4. Prof. S.A. Ansari	Member
5. Prof. M.P. Dube	Member
6. Prof. S.D. Dixit	Member
7. Prof. Pradeep Bhargava	Member
8. Prof. Bhaskar Majumdar	Member
9. Dr. M. Massey	Member
10. Dr. Bhaskar Jha	Member
11. Shri Surya Narayan Singh	Member
12. Dr. Bhoore Lal	Member
13. Smt. Krishna Banerjee	Member
14. Shri S.S. Tripathi	Member
15. Dr. S.N. Verma	Member
16. CA. P.K. Singh, Finance Officer	Special Invitee
17. Prof. J.N. Mishra, Registrar	Secretary

Members who could not attend the meeting owing to their pre-occupation :-

1.	Prof. Ved Prakash	
2.	Prof. Amitav Roy Choudhary	Member
3.	Prof. Shireen Mosssavi	Member
4.	Prof. Nishikant D. Mirajkar	Member
5.	Prof. D.P. Singh	Member
6.	Prof. A.K. Malhotra	Member
7.	Dr. Habib Ahamad	Member
8.	Dr. A.R. Mishra	Member

Initiating the deliberations, Prof. J.N. Mishra, Secretary of the Executive Council introduced Prof. A.K. Singh, the Vice-Chancellor, who joined on 24-01-2011 as the second Vice-Chancellor of the Central University *viz*. University of Allahabad for a term of five years with effect from the date of assumption of his Office.

At the outset, with the permission of the Chair, the Secretary welcomed the Hon'ble members of the Executive Council to the Seventeenth meeting of the Executive Council after the enforcement of the University of Allahabad Act, 2005 and he expressed confidence that under guidance of the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. A.K. Singh and with the support of Hon'ble members of the Executive Council – persons of standing eminence in academic/public life, the University is bound to re-establish its rightful place of Centre of Academic Excellence at the global level.

Initiating the deliberations, the Chairman extended a warm welcome to all the distinguished members and affirmed looking forward to their support for efficient and effective functioning of the University.

After the opening remarks, the Secretary took-up the Agenda for discussion.

- Agenda No. 01/17 To consider the recommendations of the Finance Committee made in its meeting held on 18-12-2010, 02-04-2011 and 04-07-2011.
- **Resolution No. 01/17 Resolved** that the Minutes and recommendations of the Finance Committee made in its meetings dated 18-12-2010, 02-04-2011 and 04-07-2011 be approved vide Appendix-'A-I', 'A-II' & 'A-III' along with the Annual Accounts for the year 2010-11 & Budget Estimate for the year 2011-12.
- **Agenda No. 02/17** Any other item with the permission of the Chair : The following items were placed, which are of urgent nature, therefore, these items be considered forthwith.
 - (1) To consider the modalities for engagement of contractual manpower in different Units and Tender for engaging Sweepers, Gardeners, etc. and Security.
 - (2) To consider the allocation of posts under OBC, Faculty and other recruitments.
 - (3) The Registrar to report the status of the Building & Works Committee as per the Clause No. 1(a) of the Ordinances XVII, and as constituted by the Executive Council.
 - (4) The application of Dr. Sanjeev Kumar H.M, Lecturer, Department of Political Science, A.U. for grants E.O.L for 2 years to join International Relations Faculty of Social Sciences Asian University, New Delhi.
 - (5) Renewal of MOU of empanelled Hospitals/ Diagnostic Centers.

Resolution No. 02/17 (1) Resolved that proper advertisement be made as per GFR for contractual engagement for finalization of the modalities for engagement of contractual manpower in different Units. The following Committee be constituted :

(a) Prof. N.R. Farooqi, Dean, Research & Development - Convener
(b) Prof. S.A. Ansari, Dean, Faculty of Commerce, A.U. - Member
(c) Prof. S.D. Dixit, Dean, Faculty of Science, A.U. - Member
(d) Prof. M.P. Dube, Dean, Faculty of Arts, A.U. - Member
(e) Prof. L.M. Singh, Dean, Faculty of Law, A.U. - Member
(f) Dr. M. Massey, Principal, E.C.C., Allahabad
(g) Shri Bhoore Lal, Department of Hindi, A.U.
(h) The Finance Officer, A.U.

[2]

(i) The Registrar, A.U.

- Member

The Committee be requested to finalize the process of engagement latest by **14th of August, 2011.** In the meantime, the existing engagement system to continue.

Resolved further that besides the existing contractual manpower no additional manpower be engaged on contract. Tender for Sweepers, Gardeners, etc. and Security be immediately floated.

Resolution No. 02/17 (2) Resolved that the report of Prof. N.R. Farooqi Committee vide Appendix-'B-I' for allocation of 81 teaching positions be approved.

Resolved further that the following Committee be constituted to finalize the recruitment rules of the administrative posts :

(1)	Prof. Pradeep	Bhargava,	Director,	GBPSSI	-	Convener
-----	---------------	-----------	-----------	--------	---	----------

(2)	Prof. M.P. Dube, Dean, Faculty of Arts,	-	M
101			

(3) CA. P.K. Singh, Finance Officer, A.U.
(4) Prof. J.N. Mishra, Registrar, A.U.

Member Member Member

Resolved also that the Committee be requested to submit its report within fortnight and after approval of the Vice-Chancellor advertisement be given.

Resolution No. 02/17 (3) After long deliberations it was **resolved** that the following Committee be constituted to suggest the formation of the Building & Works Committee in consistence of Clause no. 1(a) of the First Ordinance XVII and existing constituted Committed by the Executive Council in 2008 & 2009.

(1) Prof. N.R.Farooqi, Dean, Research & Development- Convener
(2) Sri Anugrah Narayan Singh, MLA/Member of EC - Member
(3) Prof. S.A. Ansari, Dean, Faculty of Commerce, A.U.- Member
(4) Prof. Pradeep Bhargava, Director, GBPSSI, -Member
(5) Dr. M. Massey, Principal, Ewing Christian College - Member
(6) Prof. J.N. Mishra, Registrar (Secretary)

The Committee to give the report within a week.

Resolved that the requests of those faculty members be acceded who have time limit for joining elsewhere and have been granted 90 days E.O.L and the same has expired.

Resolution No. 02/17(5) The Registrar apprised the Council that the period of Agreement with the Hospitals / Nursing Home / Diagnostic Centres for treatment / Clinical test for Allahabad University employees is going to be expired and, therefore, the Agreement needs to be extended.

[3]

Resolution No. 02/17 (4)

Prof. Farooqi pointed out that the renewal should be done on the same terms & conditions, only to those whose services are satisfactory.

It was resolved that the Committee, which had been constituted earlier by the Executive Council will examine the suitability of renewal of MOU and in the mean meantime services will continue.

The Committee, which has been constituted is as follows :

(1) Prof. N.R. Farooqi, Dean, R & D (in place of Prof. Janak Pandey who	- Convener
had superannuated of the services of the University of Allahabad)	
(2) Prof. R.K. Singh, Dean, Students Welfare(3) Registrar, A.U.	- Member - Member

(4) Finance Officer, A.U.

- Member

It was also resolved to include the Senior Medical Officer of A.U. Health Centre in the Committee.

In the end, the Registrar informed the House that one of our alumni Shri Mohan Singh, Hon'ble Member of Rajya Sabha has intended to donate Rs. Two Crores from his parliamentary funds to the University, for construction of a building. The House expressed its gratitude to Shri Mohan Singh. Further necessary action in this matter will be taken up by the Registrar.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(A.K. Singh) Chairman & Vice-Chancellor Executive Council

(J.N. Mishra) Secretary & Registrar Executive Council